Year 6 Leaders Assembly

On Monday 29 January we had our Year 6 Leaders Assembly where the successful Year 6 students were formally introduced as House or Co-Curricular Performing Arts captains for 2024. Liliana Bunch as a representative of the Year 6 leaders read out the pledge and Sean Weng presented his leadership speech about one of our College values – Care.

An important aspect of this assembly was the introduction of their roles by their Secondary School counterparts which is consolidating the collaboration across the Junior and Secondary School. Throughout this year these students will work together on common goals and further develop and hone their leadership skills.

The traditional positions of Swimming, Cross-Country and Track & Field Captains will continue and will be announced prior to these events occurring. However, the captaincy structure for our APS Team Sports changed in 2023. Instead of naming a captain for each individual sport, we will name two students as Season 1 Sport Captains and two students as Season 2 Sport Captains. These students take on leadership responsibilities across the whole sporting program and will be presented at a Junior School Assembly later in Terms 1 and 3.

Delaying the announcement of our Co-Curricular Sport Captains will allow us to observe each students’ leadership during the preseason training process, ensuring we pick captains that show a positive attitude, commitment towards training and a genuine passion for building the profile of sport across the Junior School.


Congratulations to our 2024 Year 6 Leaders!

  • Dennis House Captains: Sean Weng & Moka Graham
  • Mackellar House Captains: Chloe Wang & Stirling Hudson
  • Lawson House Captains: Lucas Wilkinson & Ria Yamasaki
  • Wright House Captains: Hugo Whittington & Liliana Bunch
  • Performing Arts Captain: Band – Emily Wong
  • Performing Arts Captain: Choir – Ivy Abedian & Oliver Tomlinson
  • Performing Arts Captain: Dance – Ria Yamasaki
  • Performing Arts Captain: Strings – Emily Zhang