YMCA Queensland Youth Parliament

During the recent holidays, four of our remarkable students made their way into Queensland's parliament, representing A.B. Paterson College with distinction at the 28th annual YMCA Queensland Youth Parliament Sitting Week.

Amity Fielding (Year 12), Chloe Ward and Cherry Ge (Year 11), and Nevindu Dammannagoda (Year 10) were chosen to represent the electorates of Broadwater, Coomera, Cairns, and Bonney, respectively. The week-long event in Brisbane included five intense days at State Parliament, where they debated Youth Bills, they have worked on since April.

While the primary focus was on debating the Youth Bills, the week also encompassed speeches, presentations, activities, and lots of singing and dancing.

Two of our students received special recognition. Earlier in the year, Chloe Ward was appointed as the Minister for Science, Tourism, Innovation and Sport, and Digital Economy. But she was also further elected as the Government Chief Whip, a pivotal role in ensuring the Government’s discipline. Despite joining later in the program, Cherry Ge's dedication and knowledge earned her the position of shadow minister for Regional Development, Manufacturing, Resources, Agriculture, Trade, and Investment. Only 16 youth members are chosen to represent the 8 portfolios.

The Youth Bills passed in the Queensland Youth Parliament will be formally submitted to the Queensland State Government for review. There's potential that some of these bills may influence policy decisions within the State Government.

Out of over 500 applicants from across Queensland, only 93 were chosen to be members of the Queensland Youth Parliament. The fact that four of these talented individuals are from A.B. Paterson College is outstanding. This is an immense accomplishment. Well done to all involved!

Amity Fielding | College Leader & Vice Captain for Lawson House