Senior Induction

On Friday 27 January, the College’s Senior Induction Ceremony took place in the Edward "Weary" Dunlop Multipurpose Centre with hundreds of staff, students, families, and special guests in attendance.

During this special ceremony, 111 Year 12 students were officially inducted as the leading cohort of A.B. Paterson College. Together, the inductees pledged to uphold the College's fine traditions, continue to develop the School’s Spirit, and consistently model the College’s motto of Excellence, Care, and Commitment.

Principal, Ms Joanne Sheehy, presented 2023 College Captain, Naia-Rae Fenton and College Vice-Captain, Alastair Hughes, with the Flag of the College. This flag is used as a symbol of unity and as a reminder of their new leadership obligations and that they, along with the rest of the student body, always belong. 

“This flag is a symbol of the College values that we ask our new College Captains to uphold, and a symbol of the aspirations of every person in this community that now look to them as leaders.
When you walk across this stage and collect your Senior badge today, let this be symbolic of your pledge to the College and of our pledge to you.  The intent of the badge is to remind you that every generation stands on the shoulders of those who have gone before."
Principal, Ms Joanne Sheehy

(Alistair Hughes and Naia-Rae Fenton)

In addition to the induction of the Year 12 students and the 2023 College Leaders, the outstanding achievements of three 2022 College graduates were acknowledged. Ahmed Iqbal, Jared Tang, and Charles Morris were presented their Mike Power Medals by Principal, Ms Joanne Sheehy, in recognition of achieving results in the top 1.15% of the state with an ATAR of 98.85.

(Ahmed Iqbal, Jared Tang and Charles Morris)

To conclude the morning's events, Principal, Ms Joanne Sheehy, was presented with the Year 12 College Constitution. Signed by all 2023 graduates and detailed with the promise the new Senior cohort makes to themselves and the wider College community. 

Congratulations to the 2023 Senior Leaders - 

College Captain:
Naia-Rae Fenton

College Vice-Captain: 
Alastair Hughes

House Leaders:
Dennis - Niesha Garbharran & Oliver Game
Lawson - Magdalena Kolarich & Amity Fielding
Mackellar - Griffin McKinnon & Jasmine Neuffer
Wright - Madeleine Lay & Macey Edgar

College Leaders:
Sport - Ruslan Akimov & Hannah Ferguson
Spirit and Community - Daniel Teren
Arts and Societies - Lulu Mathers
Interact - Vipasha Rajkumar & Charlotte Squire
Prep to Year 3 - Marissa Dirkx
Year 4 to Year 6 - Jessica Williams
Year 7 to Year 9 - Grace Jones